Skip to main Content

Select Region

Site Search

Inthanon, Ahsan & Setiawan Take Home the Gold

17 September 2013

Thailand’s Ratchanok Inthanon (ARC-FB, SHB01-LX) made a history as the youngest ever winner at the BWF World Championships. She was the youngest World Junior Champion and youngest Superseries winner. The men’s doubles final became the all YONEX Players match between Mathias Boe(VT80)/Carsten Mogensen(ARC-FB, SHBF1NLT) and Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB, SHB01LTD)/Hendra Setiawan (NR800). Mohammad and Hendra crowned this title after defeating the Danish duo in a straight set.

Facing world No. 1 Li Xuerui of China, Ratchanok won the nail-biting first game by 22-20. But Xuerui, who have won a lot of major titles, tied the match to win the second game, 21-18. In the decider, Ratchanok dominated the game with speedy attack and enough stamina, 21-14. She finally captured the historical title.

Mohammad/Hendra started to compete in the world tour as a duo from the beginning of this year. This new pair soon impressed the world to win the Malaysia Open in January. Since then the Indonesian duo took 2 more Superseries titles in Indonesia and Singapore. They faced Danish giant and 3 time Superseries finals winners, Mathias/Carsten. Mohammad/ Hendra attacked with their accurate drive shot to make smashing chance. Their pressure was good enough to earn as much as 18 smash winners. Mohammad/Hendra won the match with a score of 21-13 23-21.

The last match of the tournament was men’s singles between Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD) and Lin Dan. As almost all of the badminton fans expected, the match became a see-saw game. Chong Wei won the first game and Dan took back the second game. Although Chong Wei retired at 17-20 in the decider, he showed superb counter shots throughout the match. Fans around the world enjoyed such exciting match.

YONEX is very proud to have been supporting these fantastic players. Please look forward to seeing their next games.


Tournament Results - Day 7

Men’s Singles - Final

Lin Dan (CHN) def. [1]Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD)(MAS) 16-21 21-13 20-17 Retired

Women’s Singles - Final

[4]Ratchanok Inthanon (ARC-FB, SHB01LX)(THA) def. [1]Li Xuerui (CHN) 22-20 18-21 21-14

Men’s Doubles - Final

[6]Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB, SHB01LTD)/Hendra Setiawan (NR800)(INA) def. [3]Mathias Boe (VT80)/Carsten Mogensen (ARC-FB, SHBF1NLT)(DEN) 21-13 23-21