Skip to main Content

Select Region

Site Search

Who Will Win the Title at the 2013 BWF World Superseries Finals?

15 December 2013

December 14th marked the semi-finals of the BWF World Superseries Finals. This tournament introduces the new instant review system that allows players to challenge calls. This system is a first in badminton, and is bringing a new degree of excitement and drama to the tournament.

Lee Chong Wei (VTZFSHB01LTD) and Tommy Sugiarto (ARC11) had the same cards as yesterday. Chong Wei played against Jan O Jorgensen. Putting pressure around the net, Chong Wei attacked with great speed, leaving his Danish opponent unable to keep up. In contrast to last time’s close match, Chong Wei defeated Jan with a significant lead at 21-14 21-16.

Tommy once again had a nail-biting game against Kenichi. After Tommy’s win in the first game at 21-14, Kenichi adjusted his speed to win the second game, 21-19. In the final game, Tommy upped the pressure even more, with attacks that knocked Kenichi off balance. Tommy won the match to advance to the final with 21-14 19-21 21-5.

In women’s doubles, Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NR-ZSP)/Christinna Pedersen(NR800SHB-01LX) dominated over Korea’s Jang Ye Na/Kim So Young with great speed, grabbing a quick victory. The world No. 2 Danish duo defeated their opponents by 21-12 21-18, and they will face China’s Ma Jin/Tang Jinhua in the final.

Men’s doubles saw a repeat of this year’s World Championships in the semi-finals, with Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB)/Hendra Setiawan (NR800,SHBF1NLTD) and Mathias Boe (VT80)/Carsten Mogensen (ARC-FB,SHBF1NLTD) competing for their place in the final. The Indonesian duo lead nearly the entire match and despite the Danish pair’s efforts to keep up, Mohammad/Hendra won the game in the end, 21-18 21-18.

Christinna and Joachim Fischer Nielsen advanced to the mixed doubles final after Xu Chen/Ma Jin retired at 21-8 11-3.


Tournament Results: Semifinals

Men’s singles

Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD)(MAS) def Jan O Jprgensen (DEN) 21-14 21-16

Tommy Sugiarto (ARC11, SHB01LTD)(INA) def. Kenichi Tago (NR-ZSP)(JPN) 21-14 19-21 21-5

Women’s Doubles

Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NR-ZSP)/Christinna Pedersen (NR800, SHB-01LX)(DEN) def. Jang Ye Na/Kim So Young (KOR) 21-12 21-18

Mixed Doubles

Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen (NR800, SHB-01LX)(DEN) def. Xu Chen/Ma Jin (CHN) 21-8 11-3 ret.