Skip to main Content

Select Region

Site Search


18 September 2013

It’s the Day 1 of the YONEX OPEN JAPAN 2013 on September 18th. The official website has been updating every information about this prestigious Superseries event. Please check the website and featured matches of all categories below.

Men’s Singles: World No. 1 Malaysian Lee Chong Wei (VTZFSHB01LTD), Men’s 2nd Chen Long from China, world rank Thai player Boonsak Ponsana, who was also runner up in last year men single’s final, will join competition in a fierce battle of wills and bodies. Fans will also have an opportunity to see the play of Denmark's young rising star Jan O Jorgensen v Japan's emerging player Takuma Ueda.

Women’s SinglesWorld No. 1 Chinese Li Xuerui, Women's 2nd and runner-up of World Championship Ratchanok Inthanon(ARC-FBSHB01-LXfrom Thailand, World No. 8 and winner of Yonex Open 2012 Taiwan's Tai Tzu Ying, as well as last year runner up Eriko Hirose from Japan will be playing.

Men’s DoublesWorld No.2 and winners of the World Championship Indonesian Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FBSHBF1NLTD) &Hendra Setiawan (NR800SHBF1NLTD), World No. 3 Mathias Boe (VT80) & Carsten Mogensen (ARC-FBSHBF1NLTDfrom Denmark, World No. 6 Japan's Hiroyuki Endo & Kenichi Hayakawa and other powerful players from around the globe will join the championship.

Women’s DoublesChinese Ma Jin & Tang Jinhua, World No. 3 Misaki Matsutomo & Ayaka Takahashi (VT80) from Japan who already advanced without playing in the preliminary round. Denmark's Christinna Pedersen (NR800SHB01-LX) & Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NR800will also participate in the championship. Fans will have an opportunity to see the final game of Japan's top pair Satoko Suetsuna & Miyuki Maeda as Suetsuna announced her retirement from badminton when this tournament concludes. Yonex Open 2013 is going to be Suetsuna's last tournament as professional badminton player.

Mixed DoublesWorld No. 2 China's Xu Chen & Ma Jin has already advanced to second round. World No. 1 Zhang Nan & Zhao Yunlei from China, World 4th Denmark's Joachim Fischer Nielsen & Christinna Pedersen, World No. 3 Kenichi Hayakawa & Misaki Matsutomo fom Japan and champions of 2005 tournament Thai's Sudket Prapakamol & Saralee Thoungthongkam will play among other star players.