Skip to main Content

Select Region

Site Search

YONEX Players Compete for the Semifinal Spots at Malaysia Open

17 January 2014

Malaysian hero Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD) advanced to the quarterfinal of Malaysia Open on Thursday January 16th and the young players, Kento Momota and Akane Yamaguchi continue their campaign there.

The No. 1 seed Chong Wei defeated China’s Wang Zhengming with a score of 21-17 21-18 and he will play against another Chinese player Du Pengyu for the semifinal spot.

Kento aggressively attacked against No. 6 seed Boonsak Ponsana of Thailand and he was solid enough to win the match in 30 minutes, 21-9 21-13. His next opponent is No. 3 seed Jan O Jorgensen.

Akane, who became the youngest Superseries winner at 2013 YONEX OPEN JAPAN, faced Minatsu Mitani (ARC9FL). Akane moved Minatsu around the court with her unpredicted shots to take initiative throughout the game and won the match by 21-7 21-15 in just 33 minutes. She will face No. 6 seed Bae Yeon Ju.

The Bitburger Open 2013 winner, Nichaon Jindapon (NR800, SHBF1NMX) of Thailand defeated No. 5 seed Sung Ji Hyun by 14-21 21-11 21-16. She will challenge against China’s Wang Shixian for her first semifinal of Superseries.

Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NR-ZSP)/Christinna Pedersen (NR800, SHB-01LX) showed great performance at 2013 BWF Superseries Finals in Kuala Lumpur last month. They defeated Indonesian duo Aprilsasi Putri Lejarsar Variella/Vita Marissa with 21-18 21-18 in the second round. The Danish duo will meet Ma Jin/Tang Yuanting in the quarterfinal.

There will be a live streaming of BWF on YouTube. Please don’t miss it.


Tournament Results: 2nd Round

Men’s singles

[1]Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD)(MAS) def. Wang Zhengming (CHN) 21-17 21-18

[4]Tommy Sugiarto (ARC11)(INA) def. Sho Sasaki (JPN) 21-6 21-19

[5]Kenichi Tago (JPN) def. Eric Pang (NED) 21-17 21-13

Kento Momota (JPN) def. [6]Boonsak Ponsana (THA) 21-9 21-13

Srikanth K. (ARC10)(IND) def. Son Wan Ho (KOR) 11-21 21-19 21-19

Women’s Singles

Nichaon Jindapon (NR800, SHBF1NMX)(THA) def. [5]Sung Ji Hyun (KOR) 14-21 21-11 21-16

Akane Yamaguchi (JPN) def. Minatsu Mitani (JPN) 21-7 21-15

Men’s Doubles

[6]Hiroyuki Endo /Kenichi Hayakawa (JPN) def. Ruud Bosch/Koen Ridder (NED) 21-9 21-8

Goh V Shem (ARC11)/Lim Khim Wah (VTZF)(MAS) def. Maneepong Jongjit (VT80)/Nipitphon Puangpuapech (NR-ZSP)(THA) 21-19 25-23

Women’s Doubles

[2]Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NR-ZSP)/Christinna Pedersen (NR800, SHB-01LX)(DEN) def. Aprilsasi Putri Lejarsar Variella/Vita Marissa (INA) 21-18 21-18

[3]Ayaka Takahashi /Misaki Matsutomo (JPN) def. Anggia Shitta Awanda/Della Destiara Haris (INA) 21-12 19-21 21-12

Reika Kakiiwa /Miyuki Maeda (JPN) def. Shinta Mulia Sari/Lei Yao (SIN) 21-14 21-12

Greysia Polii (NR-ZSP)/Nitya Krishinda Maheswari (INA) def. Chau Hoi Wah (NR800)/Poon Lok Yan (ARC11)(HKG) 21-7 21-16

Mixed Doubles

[3]Christinna Pedersen (NR800, SHB-01LX)/Joachim Fischer Nielsen (DEN) def. Kang Ji Wook/Ko A Ra (KOR) 21-11 16-21 21-8

[5]Chris Adcock (VTZF, SHB01LTD)/Gabrielle Adcock (VT80, SHB-01LX)(ENG) def. Michael Fuchs (VT80)/Birgit Michels (NR700FX)(GER) 23-21 16-21 21-6

Follow YONEX