Inthanon, Ahsan, and Setiawan Take Home the Gold

Thailand’s Ratchanok Inthanon (ARC-FB, SHB01-LX) made history by becoming the youngest player ever to win the BWF World Championships. At eighteen years old, she is both the youngest World Junior Champion and the Super Series winner. Faced with world No. 1 Li Xuerui of China, Ratchanok won the intense first game, 22-20. But Xuerui, winner of many major titles, tied the match by winning the second game, 21-18. In the decider, Ratchanok dominated with speed and stamina, and ultimately captured the historical title 21-14.

The men’s doubles final was an all YONEX Players match between Mathias Boe (VT80) / Carsten Mogensen (ARC-FB, SHBF1NLT) and Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB, SHB01LTD) / Hendra Setiawan (NR800). Mohammad and Hendra were crowned the title after defeating the Danish duo in a straight set. Mohammad/Hendra began competing in the world tour as a duo earlier this year. This new pair immediately impressed the world when they won the Malaysia Open in January. Since then, the Indonesian team took two more Super Series titles in Indonesia and Singapore. At this year’s BWF World Championships, they faced Danish giant and three-time Super Series finals winners Mathias/Carsten. Mohammad/Hendra used their solid drive shots to make smashing chances, earning a total of eighteen smash winners,and ultimately winning the match with a score of 21-13 23-21.

The last match of the tournament was men’s singles between Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD) and Lin Dan. As most badminton fans expected, the match was a seesaw game. Chong Wei won the first game and Dan took back the second game. Although Chong Wei was defeated in the 17-20 decider, he delivered outstanding counter shots throughout, and made for an exciting match enjoyed by audiences worldwide.

YONEX is very proud to support these fantastic players. We look forward to seeing them in their next appearances!

Men’s Singles - Final

Lin Dan (CHN) def. [1] Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD)(MAS) 16-21 21-13 20-17 Retired

Women’s Singles - Final

[4] Ratchanok Inthanon (ARC-FB, SHB01LX)(THA) def. [1] Li Xuerui (CHN) 22-20 18-21 21-14

Men’s Doubles - Final

[6] Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB, SHB01LTD)/Hendra Setiawan (NR800)(INA) def. [3] Mathias Boe (VT80)/Carsten Mogensen (ARC-FB,

SHBF1NLT)(DEN) 21-13 23-21