Lee Chong Wei Advances to the SFs with 3 straight-game Winnings

The world No. 1 YONEX badminton player Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD) qualified for the semifinals of BWF World Superseries finals by winning all his matches in straight-games in the round robin. Danish players Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NR-ZSP)/Christinna Pedersen(NR800, SHB-01LX) also won all 3 matches to qualify for the semifinals.

Chong Wei faced off against European Champion Jan O Jorgensen, playing with powerful smashes and a few unforced errors. Jan counter attacked to catch up in each game, 20-all, however, Chong Wei’s precise shots didn't allow Jan to capture any games or momentum. Although Jan had a lead during the second game 14-8, the final score was 23-21, 24-22. Tommy Sugiarto (ARC11, SHB01LTD) also advanced to the semifinals of the men’s singles.

World No. 2 pair Kamilla/Christinna played a tough 3-game match against world No. 1 ranked Chinese duo, Wang Xiaoli/Yu Yang (F). Kamilla/Christinna defeated their opponents for the first time with a score of 21-11 16-21 21-15.

In men’s doubles, Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB)/Hendra Setiawan (NR800, SHBF1NLTD) and Mathias Boe (VT80)/Carsten Mogensen (ARC-FB, SHBF1NLTD) qualified for the semifinals.

Pairing with Joachim Fischer in mixed doubles, Christinna also won all the 3 matches of round robin. They defeated the world champion Tontowi Ahmad/Liliyana Natsir of Indonesia 21-19 21-12. Malaysian pair, Chan Peng Soon (ARC10, SHBF1NLTD)/Goh Liu Ying (NR-ZSP, SHBF1NLX) secured their spot in the semifinals after defeating Markis Kido/Pia Zebadiah Bernandeth, 21-18 21-19.

Tournament Results: Day 3


Men’s singles

Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD)(MAS) def Jan O Jprgensen (DEN) 23-21 24-22

Tommy Sugiarto (ARC11, SHB01LTD)(INA) def. Kenichi Tago (JPN) 21-14 20-22 21-19


Women’s singles

Saina Nehwal (NR700RP)(IND) def. Bae Yeon Ju (KOR) 21-11 17-21 21-13


Women’s Doubles

Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NR-ZSP)/Christinna Pedersen (NR800, SHB-01LX)(DEN) def. Wang Xiaoli/Yu Yang (F) (CHN) 21-111 16-21 21-15

Reika Kakiiwa (AT900T)/Miyuki Maeda (VT70)(JPN) def. Duanganong Aroonkesorn/Kunchala Voravichitchaikul (THA) 21-19 16-21 21-12


Mixed Doubles

Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen (NR800, SHB-01LX)(DEN) def. Tontowi Ahmad/Liliyana Natsir (INA) 21-14 20-22 21-19

Chan Peng Soon (ARC10, SHBF1NLTD)/Goh Liu Ying (NR-ZSP, SHBF1NLX)(MAS) def. Markis Kido/Pia Zebadiah Bernandeth (INA) 21-18 21-19