Nehwal and Santoso win the Indonesia Open

Djarum Indonesia Open 2012 of Super Series Premier took place until Sunday, June 17th. In the finals of the women's singles, No. 5 seed Saina Nehwal (NR700RP) faced No. 4 seed Xuerui Li who won the All England Open 2012 in March.

In the first set, Li earned smash winners exceeding Nehwal and won the set by 21-13. However Nehwal showed spirited performance and won the next two sets after close games. Finally, Nehwal defeated Li by 13-21, 22-20, 21-19 to win the title. It was third time for her to win this tournament.

In the finals of men's singles, No. 7 seed Simon Santoso (AT900P) had a match against No.8 seed Pengyu Du. Throughout the whole match, Santoso showed great offensive performance. Especially, he earned 29 smash winners which are about twice as much as the opponent. In the sets Santoso won, he took the lead consistently. Santoso defeated Du by 21-18, 13-21, 21-11 and won his first title in this tournament.

In the men's and mixed doubles, two YONEX pairs moved into the finals.

In the men's doubles, No. 3 seed Mathias Boe (AT900P) and Carsten Mogensen (VTZF) faced Jae Sung Jung and Yong Dae Lee. Danish pair lost the match, however, it was a very close game. Especially in the first set, they earned 12 smash winners which are 7 more times than Korean pair and reached 21 points before the opponents did. It was a good match which could have gone either way. In the end Danish pair took the second place in this tournament.

In the mixed doubles, No.3 seed Tantowi Ahmad (AT900P) and Liliyana Natsir (NR700RP) had a match against Sudket Prapakamol and Saralee Thougthongkam. The final score was 17-21, 21-17, 13-21 and they also won the second place.

Players' images are from the All England Open 2012.

Tournament Results [Finals]
Men's Singles
[7]Simon Santoso (INA) def. [8]Pengyu Du (CHN) 21-18 13-21 21-11

Women's Singles
[5]Saina Nehwal (IND) def. [4]Xuerui Li (CHN) 13-21 22-20 21-19

Men's Doubles
[2]Jae Sung Jung (KOR) / [2]Yong Dae Lee (KOR) def. [3]Mathias Boe (DEN) / [3]Carsten Mogensen (DEN) 23-21 19-21 21-11

Mixed Doubles
Sudket Prapakamol (THA) / Saralee Thoungthongkam (THA) def. [3]Tantowi Ahmad (INA) / [3]Liliyana Natsir (INA) 21-17 17-21 21-13