Yonex is proud to be appointed the Official Badminton Equipment and Services Provider to the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games

As the world’s #1 badminton brand we are committed to stimulating participation inspiring the champions of tomorrow and contributing to what promises to be the most exciting of Games in one of the most exciting of cities.

Badminton is one of the great spectacles of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games and will be featured the entire 11 days of the program.

Competition will take place on six purpose-built courts based at the Emirates Arena where six gold medal events will be contested for – MS, MD, WS, WD, XD, plus a combined Mixed Team event. Don’t miss our top talent from all of the home nations as they challenge the stars from the rest of the Commonwealth for the medals. 

Team England:

Rajiv Ouseph, the 2010 silver medalist from Delhi, goes again in the men’s singles while Chris and Gabby Adcock will become the first husband and wife badminton XD pair to compete for England at the Games. Chris also competes in the MD with Andy Ellis while Gabby teams up with Lauren Smith in the WD. Kate Robertshaw in the WD and Sarah Walker will also be competing in the WD.

Rajiv Ouseph, MD - Nanoray 900SHB01MX
Chris Adcock, XD, MD - Voltric Z-FORCE IISHB01LTD
Gabriel Adcock, XD, WD - Voltric Z-FORCE IISHB01LX
Andrew Ellis, XD - Voltric 80SHB01MX
Lauren Smith, WD - Voltric Z-FORCE IISHBSC4LX
Kate Robertshaw, WD - Voltric Z-FORCE IISHBSC4LX
Sarah Walker, WS - Voltric 70SHB01LX

Team Scotland:

Kirsty Gilmour who will be going for gold in the WS, as Imogen Bankier, will be challenging for a place on the podium in the XD. With six of the squad who have Commonwealth Games experience in the 2010 Games in New Delhi, Team Scotland will be aiming to improve on their team Bronze medal at the 2002 Games in Manchester.

Martin Campbell, MD, Team - Voltric 80SHB01MX
Kieran Merrilees, MS, Team - Arcsaber 11SHB01MX
Paul Van Rietvelde, MD, XD, Team - Voltric Z-FORCE IISHB01MX
Imogen Bankier, MD, WD, Team - Voltric i-FORCESHB01LX
Jillie Cooper, MD, Team - Nanoray Z-SpeedSHB01LX
Kirsty Gilmour, WS, WD, Team - Voltric i-FORCESHB01LX

Team Wales:

With a blend of youth and experience team Wales will also be contesting for the medals, whilst Daniel Font and Oliver Gwilt will be making their Commonwealth debuts in the MD. After having recently winning the Portuguese and Icelandic international WD Sarah Thomas will be looking for another win in the WD.

Sarah Thomas WD WS XD - Voltric 70SHB01MX
Daniel Font  MD -  Arcsaber 11SHB01LX
Oliver Gwilt MD - Voltric Z-FORCE IISHB01MX

Team Northern Ireland:

Good luck also to Sinead Chambers, Tony Murphy and Tony Stephenson will all be representing Northern Ireland.

Sinead Chambers – Voltric 70SC2
Tony Murphy – Voltric 70SHB01MX
Tony Stephenson – Arcsaber Z-SlashSHB01MX


Make sure that you don't miss any of the Badminton action.

24 July – 3 Aug. The Emirates Arena, Glasgow.