BWF Destination Dubai World Superseries Finals: Team YONEX’s Top Shuttlers Make Their Way to The Court

The largest badminton tournament of the year, the BWF Destination Dubai World Superseries Finals, is approaching, with YONEX’s top shuttlers in the running for a piece of the US $1 million dollar prize. The action is set to start on December 17th, with the final match scheduled for the 21st.

Heading the line up in men’s singles is European Championships gold medallist and Indonesian Open Superseries Premier winner Jan O. Jorgensen (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, SHBSC6iEX).  “It has always been a childhood dream to play with YONEX, because it was the brand I played with as a little child” said the newest addition to Team YONEX, who will make his way to this year’s Superseries using his beloved childhood brand. Next is BWF World Championships bronze medallist and Malaysia Open Superseries Premier runner-up Tommy Sugiarto (ARCSABER 11SHB-87EX), who made it to the finals in last year’s tournament. Indonesian Open Superseries Premier finalist Kenichi Tago (NANORAY Z-SPEED) will be representing Japan in the tournament, along with fellow countryman Kento Momota (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ), who impressed at this year’s Thomas Cup.

In women’s singles, Saina Nehwal (NANORAY 900) is in the running, who had another great year with her recent victory at the China Open Superseries Premier, as well as at the Australian Open Superseries this past June. Also representing YONEX’s lady shuttlers is 2013 BWF World Championships gold medallist Ratchanok Intanon (VOLTRIC 70 E-tuneSHBF1NLX), who displayed fine performance in her run towards the Indonesian Open Superseries Premier finals. Last but not least, Japanese rising star Akane Yamaguchi (VOLTRIC 80) will be making her Superseries final debut. The 17-year-old was the runner-up at the recent China Open Superseries Premier, clutched the women’s singles title at this year’s Japanese National Badminton Championships, and won the gold at the BWF World Junior Championships two years in a row.

Team NANORAY leads in men’s doubles, with defending champions Mohammad Ahsan (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD) and Hendra Setiawan (NANORAY 900, SHBF1NLTD) making another appearance at the tournament. The two continue to boast great performance, taking the title at the recent YONEX-SUNRISE Hong Kong Open Superseries. The two also won at this year’s YONEX All England Open Superseries Premier.  Mathias Boe (ARCSABER 11, SHBSC6iEX) and Carsten Mogensen (ARCSABER 11SHB87LTD) will also compete, coming off of a recent title at this October’s YONEX French Open Superseries, and also winning in 2012’s Superseries Finals.

Rounding out the Danish contingent in women’s doubles are defending champions Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NANORAY 900)/Christinna Pedersen (NANORAY 800SHB-01LX), who were the women’s doubles winners at this year’s European Championships as well. YONEX French Open Superseries finalists Chris Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE ⅡSHB01LTD) and Gabrielle Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE ⅡSHBSC4LX) will show off their skills in mixed doubles, along with Australian Open Superseries runners-up Michael Fuchs (VOLTRIC 80, SHBSC6iEX) and Birgit Michels (NANORAY 700FXSHBSC4LX).

With this much talent on the court, this year’s the BWF Destination Dubai World Superseries Finals will most definitely be a nonstop series of heart-pounding matches.

*Player photos taken at the 2014 French Open Superseries, 2014 Denmark Open Superseries Premier, and YONEX OPEN JAPAN 2014