Denmark Open SSP 2014: Danish Shuttlers Impress on Home Turf

Day 2 of the Denmark Open had many excited fans lined up to get autographs from two of the world's best doubles pairs—Mathias Boe(ARCSABER 11, SHBSC6iEX)/Carsten Mogensen (ARCSABER 11,SHB87LTD) and Mohammad Ahsan (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD)/Hendra Setiawan (NANORAY 900, SHBF1NLTD).

Back on the court, Mathias/Carsten and Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NANORAY 900)/Christinna Pedersen (NANORAY 800SHB-01LX) showed great performances in front of local fans. No. 3 seeds Mathias/Carsten faced China's Kang Jun/Liu Cheng in a match that became really heated in the second game at 23-21, but the two managed to take the match in straight sets. In women's doubles, Kamilla/Christinna made a confident straight-set win over Chinese pair Luo Ying/Luo Yu, 21-15 21-11.

The female Danish pair saw similar results in their respective mixed doubles matches, with Christinna/Joachim Fischer Nielsen beating Korea's Kim Gi Jung/Kim So Yeong at 21-11 21-14, and Mads Pieler Kolding (ARCSABER 11SHB-87EX)/Kamilla coming out victorious over Kenichi Hayakawa/Misaki Matsutomo at 21-14 21-14.

In men's doubles, No. 2 seeds Mohammad/Hendra secured a solid win over China’s Cai/Kai. While the first game proved to be tough, the world No. 2 Indonesian pair won 24-22 21-13.

In women's singles, Zhang Beiwen (ARCSABER 11SHB87LTD) beat the second top-10 player in her career, defeating Tai Tzu Ying in the first round, then continuing on to win against Busanan Ongbumrungpan (NANORAY Z-SPEED, SHBF1NLTD) in the second round, 21-15 21-17. She faces Li Xuerui in the quarterfinals.

As the tournament comes to a close, keep rooting for Team YONEX!

Tournament Results (Denmark Open Superseries Premier—Round 2)

Men’s Singles

[3]Jan O. Jorgensen (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ,SHBSC6iEX)(DEN) def. Lin Dan (CHN) Walkover

Kashyap Parupalli (ARCSABER 11)(IND) def. Dionysius Hayom Rumbaka (INA) 21-17 17-21 22-20

Women’s Singles

[7]Saina Nehwal (NANORAY 900)(IND) def. Minatsu Mitani (JPN) 21-12 21-10

Zhang Beiwen (ARCSABER 11SHB87LTD)(USA) def. Busanan Ongbumrungpan (NANORAY Z-SPEED, SHBF1NLTD)(THA) 21-15 21-17

Men’s Doubles

[2]Mohammad Ahsan (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD)/Hendra Setiawan (NANORAY 900, SHBF1NLTD)(INA) def. Cai Yun/Kai Lu (CHN) 24-22 21-13

[3]Mathias Boe (ARCSABER 11, SHBSC6iEX)/Carsten Mogensen (ARCSABER 11SHB87LTD)(DEN) def. Kang Jun/Liu Cheng (CHN) 21-16 23-21

Women’s Doubles

[2]Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NANORAY 900)/Christinna Pedersen (NANORAY800SHB-01LX)(DEN) def. Luo Ying/Luo Yu (CHN) 21-15 21-11

[3] Ayaka Takahashi /Misaki Matsutomo (JPN) def. Jung Kyung Eun/Kim Ha Na (KOR) 17-21 21-17 21-16

[6] Reika Kakiiwa /Miyuki Maeda (JPN) def. Johanna Goliszewski (NANORAY800)/Carla Nelte (GER) 21-18 21-15

Mixed Doubles

[2] Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen (NANORAY800SHB-01LX)(DEN) def. Kim Gi Jung/Kim So Yeong (KOR) 21-11 21-14

Maneepong Jongjit (VOLTRIC 80, SHBF1NLTD)/Sapsiree Taerattanachai (ARCSABER 11SHBSC6iEX)(THA) def. Chan Yun Lung/Tse Ying Suet (NANORAY Z-SPEED)(HKG) 21-18 21-18

Mads Pieler Kolding (ARCSABER 11SHB-87EX)/Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NANORAY 900)(DEN) def. Kenichi Hayakawa/Misaki Matsutomo (JPN) 21-14 21-14