Lee, Ahsan & Setiawan Secure Indonesia OP Titles

The Indonesia Open Superseries Premier 2013 was a bittersweet tournament with the retirement of the legend, Taufik Hidayat (ARC11). Winning his 4th title of 2013, world #1 Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD) was wearing a “WE LOVE TAUFIK” T-shirt at the podium.

Chong Wei faced Marc Zwiebler (ARC11) of Germany in the final match. In the prior round, Marc defeated Tommy Sugiarto (ARC11) who was victorious against world #2 Chen Long in the first round. Both Chong Wei and Marc exhibited powerful smash winners, but Chong Wei overcame Marc with his solid style of play.  While Marc had 17 smash winners, Chong Wei had an even more impressive 23 to help capture his 32nd Superseries title with the score of 21-15, 21-14.

With the huge support from the home crowd, Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB, SHB01LTD)/Hendra Setiawan (NR800) played aggressively with 14 smash winners and 20 net winners against world #1 ranked Ko Sung Hyun/Lee Yong Dae. Mohammad and Hendra allowed the opponents just 6 smash and 14 net winners. Proving to be a difficult tournament for them, non seeded Mohammad and Hendra managed to defeat #4 seed Hiroyuki Endo (VTZF)/Kenichi Hayakawa and #5 seed Cai Yun/Fu Haifeng. Finally, the Indonesian duo won the title 21-14 21-18.

Christinna Pedersen (NR800, SHB01-LX)/Joachim Fischer defeated #2 seed Tontowi Ahmad/Liliyana Natsir to reach the final. Proving to be a tense game, Christinna/Joachim played against #3 seed Zhang Nan/Zhao Yunlei, becoming the runners-up with a score of 22-24 22-20 12-21

Tournament Results – Finals

Men’s Singles

[1]Lee Chong Wei (VTZF, SHB01LTD)(MAS) def. Marc Zwiebler (ARC11)(GER) 21-15 21-14

Women’s Singles

[1]Li Xuerui (CHN) def. [4]Juliane Schenk (GER) 21-16 18-21 21-17

Men’s Doubles

Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB, SHB01LTD)/Hendra Setiawan (NR800)(INA) def. [2]Ko Sung Hyun/Lee Yong Dae (KOR)21-

14 21-18

Women’s Doubles

[8]Bao Yixin/Cheng Shu (CHN) def. [1]Wang Xiaoli/YU Yang (F) (CHN) 15-21 21-18 21-18

Mixed Doubles