Lee Chong Wei & Saina Nehwal Clinch Denmark Open Title

It was Lee Chong Wei(VTZFLTD)’s 30th birthday when he added another Superseries title to his collection at YONEX Denmark Open Superseries Premier on Sunday, October 21st.

In the men’s singles final, World No. 1 Malaysian faced 7th seeded Pengyu Du of China, who defeated No. 2 seed Long Chen by 21-8 21-15 in the semifinal. Pengyu’s net play was so accurate that Chong Wei couldn’t win the first game, 21-15. It was a tough start for Chong Wei, however, he played more aggressively in the second game to earn 14 smash winners while Pengyu did just 2. The final game was an exciting seesaw game. Although Pengyu reached 11th point first, Chong Wei led the game after 12-all. At the match point, 20-19, Chong Wei earned 28th smash winner to celebrate his birthday with the Superseries Premier title. The final score was 15-21, 21-12, 21-19.

Saina Nehwal(NR700RP) captured her second Superseries title in 2012. She faced Germany’s Juliane Schenk in the final. Saina played so accurately and aggressively to earn 19 smash winners throughout the match. She closed with a score of 21-17, 21-8 and improved the head- to head against Juliane, 6-3.

In the semifinal of men’s doubles, Koo Kien Keat(VTZFLTD) and Tan Boon Heong(VTZFLTD) faced local heroes, Mathias Boe(AT900P) and Carsten Mogensen(VTZF). The decider was a nail-biting game. Mathias and Carsten reached a match point first, however, Kien Keat and Boon Heong didn’t give up. After they evened the game by 20-all, Kien Keat and Boon Heong finally took the 5th match point to finish the amazing match, 19-21, 21-11, 26-24. They became the runners-up, although they played another tough match in the final against Korean duo Baek Choel Shin and Yeon Seong Yoo.

Lee’s image is from YONEX OPEN JAPAN 2012. Nehwal’s image is from Indonesia Open 2012.


Tournament Results [Finals]

Men’s Singles

1. Lee Chong Wei (VTZFLTD) [1](MAS)

2. Pengyu Du [7](CHN)

Women’s Singles

1. Saina Nehwal (NR700RP) [3](IND)

2. Juliane Schenk [6](GER)

Men’s Doubles

1. Baek Choel Shin/Yeon Seong Yoo (KOR)

2. Koo Kien Keat (VTZFLTD)/Tan Boon Heong(VTZFLTD) [3](MAS)

Women’s Doubles

1. Jin Ma/Jinhua Tang (CHN)

2. Ayaka Takahashi (VT80)/ Misaki Matsutomo [6](JPN)

Mixed Doubles

1. Chen Xu / Jin Ma [1](CHN)

2. Tontowi Ahmad (AT900P) / Liliyana Natsir (NR700RP) (INA)