Ratchanok Intanon and Lin Dan Winners at 2015 Asia Championships

In men’s singles Lin Dan (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ) defended his title at the tournament, crushing opponent after opponent with a full run of straight-game victories. He met up with young shuttler Tian Houwei in the final match, with their first game proving to be a close affair. Lin Dan’s opponent tried to sneak in a win from behind, but the veteran shuttler simply wouldn’t allow it. The five-time world champion then proceeded to overpower the young Chinese shuttler in the second game, refusing him any chances to get ahead. Lin Dan secured his fourth title at the event, winning the final match at 21-19 21-8.

Ratchanok Intanon (VOLTRIC 70 E-tuneSHB-02LX) prevailed in a tough final match against No. 1 seed Li Xuerui in women’s singles. Ratchanok had last defeated the Chinese shuttler in the 2013 BWF World Championships. It was a very tense outing, with Xuerui winning game 1 by a slight two-point difference. It looked as if the Chinese was going to take the match in the second game, but Ratchanok persevered, evening the score at 21-21 and proceeding to grab two consecutive points, taking the match into a decider. The Thai shuttler went on to dismantle her opponent in the final game, winning by a nine-point difference, and grabbing seven consecutive points against the home favourite. With a final score of 20-22 23-21 21-12, Ratchanok secured one of the biggest titles of her career.

Mohammad Ahsan (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD) and Hendra Setiawan (NANORAY 900, SHBF1NLTD) competed fiercely against Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong in a heated three-game match. However, it was the Korean pair that prevailed, with the Indonesian pair ranking as finalists. Mohammad and Hendra had won against the Korean pair at the Malaysia Open Superseries Premier earlier in the month.

2015 Asia Championship Tournament Results

Men’s Singles

[2] Lin Dan (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ) (CHN)  def. Tian Houwei (CHN) 21-19 21-8

Women’s Singles

[7] Ratchanok Intanon (VOLTRIC 70 E-tuneSHB-02LX)(THA) def. [1] Li Xuerui  (CHN) 20-22 23-21 21-12

Men’s Doubles

[1] Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong (KOR) def. [6] Mohammad Ahsan (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD)/Hendra Setiawan (NANORAY 900, SHBF1NLTD)(INA) 18-21 24-22 21-19