World stars tell us why YONEX is the Perfect Choice for Your Game.

The red hot atmosphere in the National Indoor Arena more than made up for the miserable Birmingham weather on an electrifying 3rd days play.

World No. 1 Lee Chong Wei (VTZF) and YONEX German Open runner-up Tommy Sugiarto (ARC10) both eased into the Men’s Singles Quarter Final.

Tommy defeated Tien Chen Chou 21-12, 21-8 while Chong Wei defeated former World Junior Champion Wang Zhengming 21-17, 21-19. The young Chinese player played aggressive badminton, however, was no match for Chong Wei’s accurate and point-killing returns.

Indian superstar, Saina Nehwal (NR700RP) is thtrough to the next round of the Women’s Singles after dispatching her opponent in only 34 minutes. Saina demonstrated fantastic attacking play during her 21-16, 21-11 victory and hit 13 smash winners in the process.

18-year-old 8th seed, Ratchanok Inthanon (ARC10) defeated compatriot Nichaon Jindapon 21-18, 21-17 to progress to the Quarter Final stage.

The Men’s Doubles pairing of Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB) and Hendra Setiawan (NR800) blasted their way to victory over Sheng Mu Lee and Chia Hsin Tsai from Chinese Taipei. The 8th seeds stunned their opponents with 18 smash winners. Mohammad told us: “The ARCSABER FB has really helped increase my swing speed meaning I can smash harder than ever before.” Hendra also commented: “YONEX equipment is the best in badminton. The NANORAY 800’s quick racquet handling and increased repulsion power really is the perfect choice for my game.”

To see more backstage photos and to keep up to date with all the latest news from the tournament as it happens, go to our Facebook and Twitter pages:


Tournament Results Second Round

Men’s Singles

[1]Lee Chong Wei (VTZF)(MAS) def. Zhengming Wang (CHN) 21-17 21-19

Tommy Sugiarto (ARC10)(INA) def. Tien Chen Chou (TPE) 21-12 21-8

Kashyap Parupalli (ARC10)(IND) def. [7]Kenichi Tago (JPN) 21-18 21-12

Women’s Singles

[1]Saina Nehwal(NR700RP) def. Belaetrix Manuputi (INA) 21-16 21-11

[8]Ratchanok Inthanon (ARC10)(THA) def. Nichaon Jindapon (VT70)(THA) 21-18 21-17

Eriko Hirose (ARC9FL)(JPN) def. Yeon Ju Bae (KOR) 20-22 22-20 21-19

Lindaweni Fanetri (NS7000)(INA) def. Porntip Buranaprasertsuk (THA) 21-14 21-10

Men’s Doubles

Maneepong Jongjit (VT80)/Nipitphon Puangpuapech (VT80)(THA) def. [2]Koo Kien Keat(VTZF)/Tan Boon Heong(VTZF)(MAS) 21-17 21-18

[4]Hiroyuki Endo(VTZF)/Kenichi Hayakawa (JPN) def. Robert Blair (SCO)/Bin Shen Tan (MAS) 17-21 21-13 21-14

[8]Mohammad Ahsan (ARC-FB)/Hendra Setiawan (NR800)(INA) def. Sheng Mu Lee/Chia Hsin Tsai (TPE) 23-21 21-16

Thien How Hoon (VTZF)/Wee Kiong Tan (VTZF)(MAS) def. Ingo Kindervater (ARC10)/Johannes Schoettler (VT80)(GER) 21-15 21-15

Women’s Doubles

[6]Miyuki Maeda (VT70)/Satoko Suetsuna (CAB35)(JPN) def. Anne Feinya Agustin/Nitya Krishinda Maheswari (INA) 17-21 21-12 21-9

Mixed Doubles

[7]Muhammad Rijal (AT900P)/Debby susanto (INA)def. Jorrit De Ruiter/Samantha Barning (NED) 21-12 21-14

[8]Robert Mateusiak (VT70)/Nadiezda Zieba (VT60)(POL) def. Diju V./Jwara Gutta (IND) 21-17 21-16

Fran Kurniawan (ARC11)/Shendy Puspa Irawati (NR700RP)(INA) def. [3]Chan Peng Soon (ARC10)/Goh Liu Ying (NR700RP)(MAS) 21-15 21-17