YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships 2015: Amazing Upsets in Round 1

March 4th at the Barclaycard Arena saw the main draw of the 2015 YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships get underway in full force. Team YONEX impressed on the court, with several heated matches and some big surprises.

In men’s singles, with sharp smashes and strong rally control, Chou Tien Chen (VOLTRIC 70 E-tune, SHB02LTD) earned a win over India’s Kashyap Parupalli (ARCSABER 11, SHBSC2iEX), ending the affair at 21-13 21-12. Lin Dan (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ), aiming for a sixth title at the Superseries Premier tournament, faced Wei Nan in round 1. After Lin Dan firmly secured the first game, Wei Nan retaliated with tricky plays to counter the Chinese shuttler’s steady play, seizing game 2. However, Super Dan came back strong in the decider, winning it without even once losing the lead. The final score came to 21-14 12-21 21-16. Local shuttler Rajiv Ouseph (NANORAY 900, SHBF1NLTD) pulled off a big upset over No. 3 seed and Korean No. 1 Son Wan Ho with tenacious rallies in front of his home crowd. The match closed at 21-16 18-21 21-19.

A battle between badminton’s fresh faces took place in women’s singles, with Ratchanok Intanon (VOLTRIC 70 E-tune, SHB-02LX) and Akane Yamaguchi (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune) facing off. The two have met several times in the past, but this time the Thai shuttler had the obvious advantage. Ratchanok gained control of the match swiftly, leaving no openings for Akane. Gaining points with strong and repeated overhead attacks, Ratchanok took the final game with a resounding smash, 21-7 21-16.

The biggest upset was in men’s doubles with Mads Pieler Kolding (ARCSABER 11SHB-87EX)/Mads Conrad-Petersen defeating world No. 1 doubles pair, Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong. Danish duo was composed in the face of their Korean opponents, known for their ironclad defence. Controlling the match expertly with very few errors in both their offence and defence, the Danes won the outing at 21-16 21-19. Men’s doubles was the only discipline to see the first seeds out in the first round. Last year’s runners up, Hiroyuki Endo (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ)/Kenichi Hayakawa came down strong on Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen in game 1 with acute smashes and drives, refusing to allow their opponents to break through. Their Danish opponents returned with a vengeance in game 2, forcing a decider. Game 3 saw the Japanese pair led by the Danes until 12-all, where they made a steady comeback to take the match, 21-6 18-21 21-17.

Nitya Krishinda Maheswari (NANORAY 800, SHB-02LX)/Greysia Polii (NANORAY 900, SHB-02LX) defeated Johana Goliszewski (NANORAY 800, SHB-02LX)/Carla Nelte with Indonesia’s trademark speedy play, meeting their opponent’s attacks with strong composure. With skilful control over rallies, the Indonesian pair won 21-19 21-10.

Mixed doubles saw another upset with Indonesia’s Praveen Jordan(VOLTRIC 80 E-tuneSHB87LTD)/Debby Susanto (NANOSPEED 9900SHB87LTD) defeating No. 3 seeds Xu Chan/Ma Jin of China. The two demonstrated great power, with Debby exhibiting remarkable control throughout the match, winning at 21-15 21-14. Local shuttlers Chris Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, SHB-02MX)/Gabrielle Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, SHB-02LX) won with power and speed over Markis Kido/Pia Zebadiah Bernadeth, boasting steady defence to move onto round 2, 21-15 21-8.

YONEX All England Open Badminton Championships 2015 Tournament Results

Men’s Singles

[2] Jan O. Jorgensen (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune, SHBSC6iEX)(DEN) def. Ng Ka Long Angus (HKG) 22-20 21-11

[5] Lin Dan (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ)(CHN) def. Wei Nan (HKG) 21-14 12-21 21-16

[8] Viktor Axelsen (ARCSABER 11SHB-87EX)(DEN) def. Wong Wing Ki Vincent (HKG) 21-16 21-17

Rajiv Ouseph (NANORAY 900, SHBF1NLTD) def. [3] Son Wan Ho (KOR) 21-16 18-21 21-19

Kento Momota (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ)(JPN) def. [4] K. Srikanth (IND) 21-18 12-21 21-15

Chou Tien Chen (VOLTRIC 70 E-tune, SHB02LTD)(TPE) def. Kashyap Parupalli (ARCSABER 11, SHBSC2iEX)(IND) 21-13 21-12

Marc Zwiebler (ARCSABER 11SHB-87EX)(GER) def. Lee Dong Keun (KOR) 21-17 19-21 21-19

Takuma Ueda (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ)(JPN) def. Wang Zhengming (CHN) 21-12 21-15

H.S. Prannoy (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ)(IND) def. Brice Leverdez (FRA) 16-21 21-8 21-18

Women’s Singles

[3] Saina Nehwal (NANORAY 900, SHB-02LX)(IND) def. Ballaetrix Manuputty (INA) 21-8 21-12

[6] Carolina Marin (NANORAY Z-SPEED, SHB-02LX)(ESP) def. Chloe Magee (IRL) 21-14 15-21 21-11

[8] Ratchanok Intanon (VOLTRIC 70 E-tune, SHB-02LX)(THA) def. Akane Yamaguchi (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune)(JPN) 21-7 21-16

Minatsu Mitani (ARCSABER 9FL)(JPN) def. Linda Zetchiri (BUL) 21-8 21-11

Busanan Ongbumrungpan (NANORAY Z-SPEED, SHBF1NLTD)(THA) def. Pai Yu Po (TPE) 21-7 19-21 21-11

Men’s Doubles

[2] Mathias Boe (ARCSABER 11, SHBSC6iEX)/Carsten Mogensen (ARCSABER 11SHB87LTD)(DEN) def. Vladimir Ivanov(VOLTRIC 80, SHB01LTD)/Ivan Sozonov (VOLTRIC 80, SHB87LTD)(RUS) 21-19 21-18

[3] Tsai Chia Hsin (ARCSABER 11)/Lee Sheng Mu (TPE) def. Mihcael Fuchs (VOLTRIC 80)/Johannes Schoettler (GER) 14-4 ret.

[4] Mohammad Ahsan (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD)/Hendra Setiawan (NANORAY 900, SHB02LTD)(INA) def. Andrew Ellis (VOLTRIC 70 E-tune)/Peter Mills (ENG) 21-9 21-17

Mads Pieler Kolding (ARCSABER 11SHB-87EX)/Mads Conrad-Petersen (DEN) def. [1] Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong (KOR) 21-16 21-19

Hiroyuki Endo (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ)/Kenichi Hayakawa (JPN) def. Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (DEN) 21-6 18-21 21-17

Hirokatsu Hashimoto (ARCSABER 11) /Noriyasu Hirata (NANORAY 900)(JPN) def. Lukasz Moren/Wojciech Szkudlarczyk (POL) 22-20 21-12

Takeshi Kamura (ARCSABER 11)/Keigo Sonoda (ARCSABER 11)(JPN) def. Wahyu Nayaka Arya Pankaryanira/Ade Yusuf (INA) 21-18 21-12

Angga Pratama (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD)/Ricky Karanda Suwardi (NANORAY 900SHB-87EX)(INA) def. Cai Yun/Lu Kai (CHN) 18-21 21-17 21-14

Manu Attri (NANORAY 750, SHB87LTD)/B. Sumeeth Reddy (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE ⅡSHB-87EX)(IND) def. [7] Chai Biao/Hong Wei (CHN) 9-21 21-17 21-17

Women’s Doubles

[4] Christinna Pedersen (NANORAY 800, SHB-02LX)/Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD)(DEN) def. Ekaterina Bolotova/Evgeniya Kosetskaya (RUS) 21-16 21-13

[6] Reika Kakiiwa (VOLTRIC 80)/Miyuki Maeda (VOLTRIC 70 E-tune)(JPN) def. Vivian Kah Mun Hoo/Khe Wei Woon (MAS) 15-21 21-11 21-16

Nitya Krishinda Maheswari (NANORAY 800, SHB-02LX)/Greysia Polii (NANORAY 900, SHB-02LX)(INA) def. Johana Goliszewski (NANORAY 800, SHB-02LX)/Carla Nelte (GER) 21-19 21-10

Mixed Doubles

[2] Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen (NANORAY 800, SHB-02LX)(DEN) def. Jacco Arends/Selena Piek (NED) 21-19 21-18

[6] Chris Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, SHB-02MX)/Gabrielle Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, SHB-02LX) def. Markis Kido/Pia Zebadiah Bernadeth (INA) 21-15 21-8

Praveen Jordan (VOLTRIC 80 E-tuneSHB87LTD)/Debby Susanto (NANOSPEED 9900SHB87LTD)(INA) def. [3] Xu Chan/Ma Jin (CHN) 21-15 21-14

Mads Pieler Kolding (ARCSABER 11, SHB-87EX)/Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD)(DEN) def. Toby Ng/Alex Bruce