YONEX Denmark Open 2015: Danish Shuttlers Power into Quarterfinals

The third day of the YONEX Denmark Open saw the nation’s shuttlers continue their advance in front of their local crowd.

Viktor Axelsen (ARCSABER 11SHB-87EX) is into the men’s singles quarterfinals after an authoritative two-game win over Korea’s Son Wan Ho. The World No. 7 Dane was strong in his rallies in the opening game, landing points at opportune moments. The final game proved to be a one-sided affair, the Dane holding an ever increasing lead over his opponent. The match closed at 21-15 21-6 when the Korean sent the shuttle flying into the net.

Lin Dan (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ LDSHBSC6LDEX) secured a comfortable win over Hong Kong’s Hu Yun (NANORAY 750SHBF1NLTD) after dropping a close opening game. The 2015 YONEX OPEN JAPAN champion powered back with his tried and true brand of keen and aggressive shot making, winning with a final score of 19-21 21-10 21-16. The King of Badminton is currently competing with the new edition of the Lin Dan Exclusive line, which goes on sale worldwide in late November.

The nation’s top men’s doubles team of Mathias Boe (DUORA 10SHBSC6iEX) and Carsten Mogensen (DUORA 10SHB87LTD) continued their way through the draw, securing a solid win over Indonesia’s Angga Pratama (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD) and Ricky Karanda Suwardi (NANORAY 900SHB-87EX). After a tight opening encounter, the Danes clutched victory at 19-21 16-21, commanding rallies in the second game, forcing their opponents into several errors.

World Champion Carolina Marin (NANORAY Z-SPEEDSHB-02LX) continued her reign in women’s singles, making it past local shuttler Mette Poulsen in straight games at 21-19 21-13. Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD) and Christinna Pedersen (NANORAY 800,SHB-02LX) are maintaining great performance on their home turf, making it into the women’s doubles quarterfinals over Malaysia’s Vivian Kah Mun Hoo and Khe Wei Woon with a score of 16-21 13-21. Mixed doubles saw badminton’s favorite couple of Chris Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE IISHB-02MX) and Gabrielle Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE IISHB-02LX) advance with an overwhelming score of 21-8 21-12 over Indonesia’s Praveen Jordan (NANORAY 800SHB87LTD) and Debby Susanto (NANOSPEED 9900,SHB87LTD).


2015 Yonex Denmark Open Results

Men’s Singles Round 2

[2] Jan O. Jorgensen (VOLTRIC 80 E-tuneSHBSC6iEX)(DEN) def. Dionysius Hayom Rumbaka (INA) 12-21 21-15 21-19  

[3] Lin Dan (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE II LD, SHBSC6LDEX)(CHN) def. Hu Yun (NANORAY 750SHBF1NLTD)(HKG) 19-21 21-10 21-16  

[4] Kento Momota (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE II)(JPN) def. Hsu Jen Hao (TPE) 18-21 21-15 21-16

[6] Viktor Axelsen (ARCSABER 11SHB-87EX)(DEN) def. Son Wan Ho (KOR) 21-15 21-6  

[7] Chou Tien Chen (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE, SHB02LTD)(TPE) def. Tian Houwei (CHN) 21-9 14-21 21-18   

Tommy Sugiarto (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune)(INA)  def. [5] K. Srikanth (IND) 21-15 21-17

Wei Nan (HKG) def. Lee Chong Wei (DUORA 10, New Shoes)(MAS) 21-18 21-19


Women’s Singles Round 2

Minatsu Mitani (ARCSABER 9FL)(JPN) def. [1] Saina Nehwal (NANORAY 900SHB02LTD)(IND) 21-18 21-13

[2] Carolina Marin (NANORAY Z-SPEEDSHB-02LX)(ESP) def. Matte Poulsen (DEN) 21-19 21-13

[4] Li Xuerui (CHN) def. Akane Yamaguchi (VOLTRIC 70 E-tune)(JPN) 21-16 21-19

Michelle Li (NANORAY 900SHBF1NLX)(CAN) def. [8] Nozomi Okuhara (JPN) 8-21 22-20 26-24 


Men’s Doubles Round 2

[4] Mathias Boe (DUORA 10SHBSC6iEX)/Carsten Mogensen (DUORA 10SHB87LTD)(DEN) def. Angga Pratama (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD)/Ricky Karanda Suwardi (NANORAY 900SHB-87EX)(INA) 21-19 21-16 

Vladimir Ivanov (ARCSABER 11SHB02LTD)/Ivan Sozonov (VOLTRIC 80 E-tuneSHBF1NLTD)(RUS) def. [5] Kenichi Hayakawa (DUORA 10)/Hiroyuki Endo (JPN) 21-10 22-20

Liu Cheng/Lu Kai (CHN) def. [2] Mohammad Ahsan (NANORAY 900SHB-75EX)/Hendra Setiawan (NANORAY 900SHB-75EX)(INA) 25-23 23-21


Women’s Doubles Round 2

[3] Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NANORAY 900SHB87LTD)/Christinna Pedersen (NANORAY 800,SHB-02LX)(DEN) def. Vivian Kah Mun Hoo/Khe Wei Woon (MAS) 21-16 21-13 

[7] Reika Kakiiwa (VOLTRIC 80)/Miyuki Maeda (VOLTRIC 70 E-tune)(JPN) def. Hsieh Pei Chen/Wu Ti Jung (TPE) 21-16 21-10

Jung Kyung Eun/Shin Seung Chan (KOR) def. [1] Ayaka Takahashi (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune)/Misaki Matsutomo (JPN) 21-17 21-13

Mixed Doubles Round 2

[5] Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen (NANORAY 800,SHB-02LX)(DEN) def. Kenta Kazuno/Ayane Kurihara (JPN) 21-8 20-22 22-20

[6] Chris Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE IISHB-02MX)/Gabrielle Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE IISHB-02LX)(ENG) def. Praveen Jordan (NANORAY 800SHB87LTD)/Debby Susanto (NANOSPEED 9900,SHB87LTD)(INA) 21-8 21-12