Yonex French Open 2016: Powerful Matches in Second Round

Day 3 of the Yonex French Open provided more on-court excitement as players move into the quarterfinals.

Straight Wins in Men’s Singles

Men’s singles saw Chou Tien Chen (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION 02 LTD) break into the quarterfinals, recording a straight win over Indian Prannoy H. S., 21-19 21-16. World No. 8 Tien Chen controlled the court with a cool head and finesse, striking at just the right moments to get the edge over the Indian.

Meanwhile, Jan O. Jorgensen (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune, POWER CUSHION COMFORT TOUR) continued his steady progress through the draw, defeating Anthony Sinisuka Ginting 20-22 15-21. Both games proved to be see-saw affairs, but Jan managed to securely take the reins on both occasions.

Doubles Pairs Conquer the Court

The towering Russian team of Vladimir Ivanov (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION COMFORT TOUR) and Ivan Sozonov (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune, POWER CUSHION 65) unleashed a furry of powerful smashes against the Japanese pair of Takuro Hoki and Yugo Kobayashi. The Russians commanded an unbroken lead in game 1 and overcame a late challenge in game 2 from the Japanese to win 21-17 21-19.

Indonesian duo Greysia Polii (NANORAY 900, POWER CUSHION 65) and Nitya Krishinda Maheswari (DUORA 7, POWER CUSHION 65) blasted through into the quarters, defeating Chiang Mei Hui and Hsu Ya Ching. The pair was an iron wall on the court, blasting back everything their opponents shot at them, prevailing with a final score of 21-9 21-18.

Yonex French Open 2016 Tournament Results

Men’s Singles (Round 2)

[3] Jan O. Jorgensen (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune, POWER CUSHION COMFORT TOUR)(DEN) def. Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (INA) 22-20 21-15

[5] Chou Tien Chen (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION 02 LTD)(TPE) def. Prannoy H. S. (IND) 21-19 21-16

Lee Hyun Il (KOR) def. [2] Viktor Axelsen (ARCSABER 11, POWER CUSHION 65)(DEN) 22-20 21-12

Jonatan Christie (INA) def. Rajiv Ouseph (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION 65)(ENG) 21-12 21-12

Women’s Singles (Round 2)

[8] Akane Yamaguchi (VOLTRIC 70 E-tune, POWER CUSHION 65)(JPN) def. Nitchaon Jindapol (THA) 21-19 21-16

He Bingjiao (CHN) def. [6] P. V. Sindhu (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, POWER CUSHION 02 LTD)(IND) 22-20 21-17

[7] Sun Yu (CHN) def. Sayaka Sato (ARCSABER 11, Yonex Shoes)(JPN) 21-14 17-21 21-16

Busanan Ongbumrungphan (NANORAY Z-SPEEDPOWER CUSHION 02 LTD)(THA) def. Minatsu Mitani (ARCSABER 11, Yonex Shoes)(JPN) 13-21 21-10 21-14

Men’s Doubles (Round 2)

[2] Mathias Boe (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION COMFORT TOUR)/Carsten Mogensen (VOLTRIC 70 E-tunePOWER CUSHION 65)(DEN) def. Chen Hung Ling/Chi-Lin Wang (TPE) 21-18 21-18

Mohammad Ahsan (NANORAY 900AHPOWER CUSHION 65 WIDE)/Berry Angriawan (INA) def. [3] Mads Pieler Kolding (ARCSABER 11, POWER CUSHION 65)/Mads Conrad-Petersen (DEN) 21-13 21-15

[7] Vladimir Ivanov (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION COMFORT TOUR)/Ivan Sozonov (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune, POWER CUSHION 65)(RUS) def. Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi (JPN) 21-17 21-19

Takeshi Kamura (ARCSABER 11, Yonex Shoes)/Keigo Sonoda (ARCSABER 11, Yonex Shoes)(JPN) def. Marcus Ellis (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, POWER CUSHION 65)/Chris Langridge (DUORA 7, POWER CUSHION 02 LTD)(ENG) 21-9 18-21 21-13

Kim Astrup (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION AERUS MENS)/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION 65)(DEN) def. Chung Eui Seok/Dukyoung Kim (KOR) 25-23 15-21 21-15

Bodin Isara (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION 65)/Nipitphon Phuangphuapet (NANORAY Z-SPEEDPOWER CUSHION SC5 MEN)(THA) def. Matthew Nottingham/Harley Towler (ENG) 21-13 21-17

Women’s Doubles (Round 2)

[1] Ayaka Takahashi (DUORA 7)/Misaki Matsutomo (JPN) def. Hye Rin Kim/Yoo Hae Won (KOR) 21-12 21-16

[3] Kamilla Rytter Juhl (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION 65)/Christinna Pedersen (DUORA 7POWER CUSHION LTD 2)(DEN) def. Puttita Supajirakul/Sapsiree Taerattanachai (THA) 21-14 21-19

[4] Greysia Polii (NANORAY 900, POWER CUSHION 65)/Nitya Krishinda Maheswari (DUORA 7, POWER CUSHION 65)(INA) def. Chiang Mei Hui/Hsu Ya Ching (TPE) 21-9 21-18

Mixed Doubles (Round 2)

[2] Praveen Jordan (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, POWER CUSHION 65)/Debby Susanto (NANOSPEED 9900, POWER CUSHION 65)(INA) def. Kian Meng Tan/Pei Jing Lai (MAS) 22-20 14-21 21-16

[3] Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen (DUORA 7POWER CUSHION LTD 2)(DEN) def. Robin Tabeling/Cheryl Seinen (NED) 21-14 21-8