YONEX OPEN JAPAN 2016: Lee Chong Wei Wins 6th Title; Danish Pair Earns 1st

Lee Chong Wei (DUORA 10 LCW, Yonex Shoes) has done it—The Malaysian World No. 1 has won his sixth YONEX OPEN JAPAN title. He faced Jan O. Jorgensen (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune, POWER CUSHION COMFORT TOUR) in a thrilling 70 minute full-game match.

Both played at a very high level, exhibiting expert navigation of the court and skillful shot variation. The two players would draw even after two close games to force a third. Jan jumped to a 6-2 lead, but Chong Wei would gradually close the gap. As the game progressed, Chong Wei once again proved his World No. 1 skill. After tying 8-8, the Malaysian would seize the lead and not let it go. He was awarded his sixth YONEX OPEN JAPAN title, winning the final match with a score of 21-18 15-21 21-16.

In women’s doubles, Kamilla Rytter Juhl (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION 65) and Christinna Pedersen (DUORA 7POWER CUSHION LTD 2) won their first YONEX OPEN JAPAN titles after an extended and tactical encounter with local favorites Ayaka Takahashi (DUORA 7) and Misaki Matsutomo. In a near repeat of their semifinal match against the Chinese, the Danish pair grasped victory from a game down.

After the opening game’s tight power struggle, Kamilla and Christinna gradually began to pick up steam against their opponents. The duo expertly hit the corners and forced errors on the Japanese, gradually taking control of the court. The Danes would proceed to seize the match’s rhythm, tiring out the local favorites to take the final game by a nine point margin. Landing the final point with a resounding smash, the final score came to 19-21 21-18 21-12.

This year’s YONEX OPEN JAPAN once again welcomed the world’s greatest badminton talent to Tokyo’s courts. Keep your eyes out for more exciting battles next year!

YONEX OPEN JAPAN 2016 Superseries Tournament Results

Men’s Singles (Final)

[1] Lee Chong Wei (DUORA 10 LCW, Yonex Shoes)(MAS) def. [3] Jan O. Jorgensen (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune, POWER CUSHION COMFORT TOUR)(DEN) 21-18 15-21 21-16

Women’s Doubles (Final)

[2] Kamilla Rytter Juhl (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION 65)/Christinna Pedersen (DUORA 7POWER CUSHION LTD 2)(DEN) def. [1] Ayaka Takahashi (DUORA 7)/Misaki Matsutomo (JPN) 19-21 21-18 21-12.