YONEX OPEN JAPAN 2016: The World’s Top Players Clash in Tokyo

YONEX OPEN JAPAN 2016 starts today! This year’s tournament once again welcomes top badminton talent from around the world to the Japanese capital.

Big Names in Men’s Singles

Right at the top of the list in men’s singles is Lee Chong Wei (DUORA 10 LCW, Yonex Shoes). Back at World No. 1, the Malaysian national hero has been on a roll since the beginning of this season, picking up two Superseries Premier titles at the Malaysia Open and Indonesia Open. The Danes are also out in full force, with 2016 European Championships Gold Medalist Viktor Axelsen (ARCSABER 11, POWER CUSHION 65) and Indonesia Open finalist Jan O. Jorgensen (VOLTRIC 80 E-tune, POWER CUSHION COMFORT TOUR) set to compete. Chong Wei has his sights set on a sixth YONEX OPEN JAPAN title, while Viktor and Jan are looking to win their first.

Ratchanok Leads the Pack in Women’s Singles

Thai’s badminton heroine Ratchanok Intanon (VOLTRIC 70 E-tunePOWER CUSHION 02 LADIES) touches down in Japan once again this year. The 21-year-old super player made history this year, becoming the first player to ever win three straight tournaments in three straight weeks at the YONEX-SUNRISE India Open, Malaysia Open and Singapore Open. She looks to win her first YONEX OPEN JAPAN title this year.

Strong Doubles Pairs Land in Japan

The doubles disciplines also see appearances from global top teams. The 2015 BWF World Superseries Finals champions in men’s and mixed doubles Mohammad Ahsan (NANORAY 900AH, Yonex Shoes)/Hendra Setiawan (NANORAY 900SE, POWER CUSHION AERUS MENS) and Chris Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, POWER CUSHION AERUS MENS)/Gabrielle Adcock (VOLTRIC Z-FORCE Ⅱ, POWER CUSHION 02 Ladies) will be talking to the courts of the Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium once again. The Indonesian pair is aiming to win their second title at the tournament, while Chris and Gabby are looking to be the first English team to ever win a YONEX OPEN JAPAN title. In women’s doubles 2016 European Championships Gold Medalists Kamilla Rytter Juhl (DUORA 10, POWER CUSHION 65) and Christinna Pedersen (DUORA 7POWER CUSHION LTD 2) will also have their sights set on their first title.