YONEX Players Compete for the Semifinal Spots at Malaysia Open

Malaysian hero and YONEX player, Lee Chong Wei (VTZFSHB01LTD), advanced to the quarterfinal of the Malaysia Open on Thursday, January 16. As one of the youngest players, Akane Yamaguchi will continue her campaign at the tournament as well.

No. 1 seed Chong Wei defeated China’s Wang Zhengming with a score of 21-17 21-18, and he will play against another Chinese player Du Pengyu for the semifinal spot.

Akane, who became the youngest Superseries winner at 2013 YONEX OPEN JAPAN, faced Minatsu Mitani (ARC9FL). Akane moved Minatsu around the court with her unpredictable shots to take the initiative throughout the game which led her to win the match 21-7 21-15 in just 33 minutes. She will next face No. 6 seed Bae Yeon Ju.

The Bitburger Open 2013 winner, Nichaon Jindapon (NR800SHBF1NMX) of Thailand defeated No. 5 seed Sung Ji Hyun, 14-21 21-11 21-16. She will face off against China’s Wang Shixian for her first semifinal in the Superseries.

Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NR-ZSP)/Christinna Pedersen (NR800SHB-01LX) had outstanding performances at the 2013 BWF Superseries Finals in Kuala Lumpur last month. They defeated Indonesian duo Aprilsasi Putri Lejarsar Variella/Vita Marissa with 21-18 21-18 in the second round. The Danish duo will meet Ma Jin/Tang Yuanting in the quarterfinal.

There will be a live streaming of BWF on YouTube. Don’t miss it! Click here to stream.

Tournament Results: 2nd Round

Men’s singles

[1]Lee Chong Wei (VTZFSHB01LTD)(MAS) def. Wang Zhengming (CHN) 21-17 21-18

[4]Tommy Sugiarto (ARC11)(INA) def. Sho Sasaki (JPN) 21-6 21-19

Srikanth K. (ARC10)(IND) def. Son Wan Ho (KOR) 11-21 21-19 21-19

Women’s Singles

Nichaon Jindapon (NR800SHBF1NMX)(THA) def. [5]Sung Ji Hyun (KOR) 14-21 21-11 21-16

Akane Yamaguchi (JPN) def. Minatsu Mitani (JPN) 21-7 21-15

Men’s Doubles

[6]Hiroyuki Endo /Kenichi Hayakawa (JPN) def. Ruud Bosch/Koen Ridder (NED) 21-9 21-8

Goh V Shem (ARC11)/Lim Khim Wah (VTZF)(MAS) def. Maneepong Jongjit (VT80)/Nipitphon Puangpuapech (NR-ZSP)(THA) 21-19 25-23

Women’s Doubles

[2]Kamilla Rytter Juhl (NR-ZSP)/Christinna Pedersen (NR800SHB-01LX)(DEN) def. Aprilsasi Putri Lejarsar Variella/Vita Marissa (INA) 21-18 21-18

[3]Ayaka Takahashi /Misaki Matsutomo (JPN) def. Anggia Shitta Awanda/Della Destiara Haris (INA) 21-12 19-21 21-12

Reika Kakiiwa /Miyuki Maeda (JPN) def. Shinta Mulia Sari/Lei Yao (SIN) 21-14 21-12

Greysia Polii (NR-ZSP)/Nitya Krishinda Maheswari (INA) def. Chau Hoi Wah (NR800)/Poon Lok Yan (ARC11)(HKG) 21-7 21-16

Mixed Doubles

[3]Christinna Pedersen (NR800SHB-01LX)/Joachim Fischer Nielsen (DEN) def. Kang Ji Wook/Ko A Ra (KOR) 21-11 16-21 21-8

[5]Chris Adcock (VTZFSHB01LTD)/Gabrielle Adcock (VT80SHB-01LX)(ENG) def. Michael Fuchs (VT80)/Birgit Michels (NR700FX)(GER) 23-21 16-21 21-6